Mind is not our Choice?

 Mind is not in our hands or Our Mind is not our Choice.  How is that Mind is not our choice?

Scenario One: JoAnn and her Birthday Gift.

Day One:

JoAnn wanted to buy a gift for her friend’s birthday. She had 100 bucks and she found a wonderful watch and when she was about to purchase it, someone gently requests her that they wanted the watch and JoAnn felt sorry for them and let them buy it.

Day Two:

JoAnn went to a different shopping center and she was surprised to  find the same watch again but now she came to know that someone has already ordered it and now she approaches the concerned person to ask gently that she was in need of the watch but she were not successful in getting it.

Mind Analysis:I helped a person on Day One and in Day Two when the same thing happened to me, no one helped me.         Attitude:She now develop a Attitude that not to help others.

Day Three:

A Friend of JoAnn asked her to lend 100 bucks for a medical emergency. She just replied,” I don’t have any money now”. JoAnn went to a shop to buy some watch which was available for 100 bucks as it was getting delayed. She also felt sad about the lie she said to her friend

Day Four:

When the watch had been gifted to her friend , her friend replied that, I have so many watches and it could have been better if I had got something else. JoAnn felt sorry that she had taken three days to present a gift and that she was not appreciated. She also had a thought that,”I could have helped a friend who had an emergency.”

Mind Analysis: I did not help the Person in Day Three and gave a present to a person on Day Four and I was not appreciated. Attitude:Its better to help a person who is in need rather than who doesn’t ask for help.                                                    

All the Attitudes a person have turns into his character.How is that Attitude turns into a Character?

Scenario Two:  Dong  Lee Mind and his Attitude

Dong Lee Attitude: Smoking is injurious to health and I came to know that many smokers died of cancer.

Dong Lee goes to a party where everyone in the party smokes, some compels him to smoke but he was so strong that he did not accept their request. Everyone in  the party came to an conclusion about Dong that Dong never smokes(Dong Character).

When someone someday finds Dong Lee smoking, they would question him, I thought you would never smoke?

Dong would reply that I started this habit recently since I thought smoking one or two cigars per week is not so injurious( Changed Attitude).

A Attitude of a person varies from Time to Time and the character of a person is what seen by others.

Example:

  • I never thought you would do like this.
  • I did not expect this from you.
  • I believed you but you cheated me.

We assume a Character on a person and would  view the person as the character and if the attitude change, the character change.

If Attitude of a Person can Change, why is that I am not able to change my habit?

We just need to understand that “Our Mind is not our Choice” or in other words, “Our Mind is not in Our Hands.

Why is that Mind is not our Choice and How to make it as Our Choice?

The Brain is an Organ which receives constant inputs from sense organs in the body and stores the information and the Output of the information can be called as a thought.

A series of thoughts can be called as Mind.

Example: I forgot where I kept my pen?

Upon Analyzing the information stored in the brain like where you went, whom you met and if you had given to someone, these thoughts can be put together as Mind.

The Information you receive will change day by day and the hence chances are that your mind changes and so does your attitude and character changes.

Now, The Real problem is if we want to really change something it seems to be very difficult.

Example:

  • I want to reduce my weight. Even though I have read a lot of information about being slim; I am unable to become slim.
  • I want to quit my bad habits such as smoking, but I am unable to do so; may be I think I got addicted.

So How to change an Habit or to become a better person?

We need to know about the Three Kinds of Mind to understand how we can change or how we can use our mind to become a better person.

  1. Conscious Mind – Thoughts
  2.  Sub-Conscious Mind – Habits (Character- Attitude)
  3. Unconscious Mind – Sleep

In Simple Words, Sub-Conscious Mind is the one which controls Habits. It will make you to remember even if you forget it.

Example:

Brushing the Teeth is an Habitual Action we do daily which is controlled by Sub-Conscious.

But in Day One, You would not have remembered that we need to brush our teeth and our mother would have reminded us to do so.

Thus it takes nearly a month for a subconscious mind to remind us an activity to do daily.

In Short we Just need to follow the action for 5 days. The Next Two days(Saturday and Sunday) again mother has to wake us up and then ask to brush our teeth.

To Change an Habit and to change ourselves, We just need to do the activity for 5 days.

2 Responses to “Mind is not our Choice?”

  1. Venusa Says:

    i’m really interested in this post:) that’s very interesting and useful. couldn’t I translate it into my langue and post in my blog?! thanks advance:)

  2. Suresh Ginger Says:

    Hi Venusa, Really Happy to hear from you and yes you can translate the post in your language(Vietnamese – Hân hạnh gặp ông)


Leave a Reply

