My Crush with Insurance Agent : Story

The Moment we hear the sound, “Insurance Agent”, we may think about some creepy looking,half baked,middle aged guy mostly a relative or a neighbor with a fake smile in the face. We always try to hide ourselves from them not for one reason but for unexplainable reasons.

Even I was little hesitating when I heard my sister say, That some Insurance Agent wants to meet me.

Sister : Are you free this weekend?
Me : Yes, why?
Sister : A Insurance Agent asked me if your Brother would be free this weekend.
Me : Look, I am not interested in seeing any Agents now.
Sister : Okay Then, I will then inform my friend.
Me : What Friend?
Sister : My College Friend, Her sister is an Insurance Agent.
Me : Oh, Didn’t She find any other better Jobs?
Sister : No, I think She has joined First Year MBA in IIT, Chennai.

For Few Minutes, I could not talk anything. My Mind was in its own Thoughts, “What is she telling me?. I have never heard anything which sounded so strange.” After a deep breathe, I looked for my sister. She was as usual talking in Cell Phone to her friend I suppose, and as walked closer, she lowered her voice and looked at me.

Me : I think its fine to meet your Friend’s sister this weekend.
Sister : Okay Fine, I will inform her.

As I walked away from my sister, She continued talking in her Phone.
Then after few Hours, I walked back to my sister and asked her to give my number if needed.

As Days passed by, A got a call from an Unknown number after about say Two weeks. But, I was in midst of work, so I could not attend during that time. Hence, I called back after about say One Hour.

Me: Hello, I got a call from this number.
Other End : Silence
Me : May I know who is this.
Other End : Sorry, Is this Suresh?
Me : Yes
Other End : Hi Suresh, I am (Her Name) and I am your sister’s friend.
Me : Oh, Ya..I remember You.
Other End : Sorry, I could have called you before.
Me : Fine, No Problem
Other End : If you are free tomorrow, can we meet?
Me : Ya Sure. where?
Other End : Where ever you wish. Or I can come to your Home.
Me : Yes, Home would be better.
Other End : Will meet you tomorrow. Bye
Me : Ya, Bye

I was sitting in a chair and I got up. I walked towards mirror, saw myself and returned back to chair.
I felt that her voice is cute and matured. I wanted to meet her. I looked up the ceiling and took a breathe.
That night, I was not able to sleep properly as her voice was repeating in my mind and to somehow see her.
I kept the alarm at 9:00AM and I was too late to notice that it was already past 10:00. I got up to make sure I am ready and not to be sleepy in case if she arrives. I was hesitating to call and ask about her status and I waited. After my Lunch, I got angry and went back to sleep. My Mother informed that She is leaving out and asked me to check the gate at times. I almost nodded in sleep but I forgot. It was about 5:00PM and I heard the door bell.

Suddenly, I remembered if She had come and quickly got up from the bed. Hurried to the basin to wash my face and applied powder to unmask the sleepy tone. I opened the door after changing to a Pant and Shirt.

She : Hello Suresh. Sorry to disturb you. I hope you are not sleeping.
Me : (Long Pause) Oh, No, No Problem. I was just inside my room. So could not hear the bell.

I asked her to come in and sit in a chair in the Hall. I went inside the kitchen with a sign to bring some water.

Inside the Kitchen, I did not know what to do. I walked here and there. My Instinct bounced with random thoughts, “Suresh, She is looking too good and gorgeous…She is also modern and well dressed..Think she is slightly taller than you…Nah..No,She might be wearing high heals” The Water overflowed and I closed the tap.

Me: So, You are from which Insurance.
She : I am from (Mute) Insurance
Me (Mind Voice) : Surprised, Not the one which I regularly hear.
She : Thanks for the Water.
Me : Okay, How much should I pay and what will be the returns?
She (Smiled) : No, Its a Term Insurance.
Me : (Pause) okay, How much I need to invest.

She started to explain me slowly and I continued to listen. Within Ten minutes, with the level of knowledge she has and her entrepreneurship spirit, I fell in Love with her.

I called my Friend to test their Insurance Knowledge. When they talked like me, I laughed and explained them what she informed.

Me : Have you got any Insurance
Friend : Yes.
Me : How much is the Sum Assured
Friend : No, We have to pay around (some money) and in the end they will return (some money).
Me(Laughs) : What you are talking is not Sum Assured. You are insuring or Investing?
Friend: I cannot understand what you are talking.
Me : In Simple words,Term Insurance is the actual insurance. Others are just Investment Products in the name of insurance.
Friend : So what.
Me : What you have taken is not Insurance actually.

I once again thought about what she informed during the conversation.

Me : So, in Term Insurance, I wont get any returns?
She : Yes, Term Insurance is the actual Insurance. Its like a Vanilla Ice-Cream.
Me : Then, the money will come only in case of Claim and the beneficiary will get the amount.
She : That’s right. If I sign a Term Insurance and in case if I die, my nominee will get huge amount(Sum assured) based on the contract where the same would be a mere amount if I happened to get any other Insurance(Investment Insurance).
Me: So, Only Term Insurance meets the actual need of Insurance which is to protect the Family as if the insured person is alive.
She : Yes, That’s Correct.
Me : So, Why not other Agents sell Term Insurance.
She : Its because, the commissions are too low in Term Insurance.
Me : Fine. Why did you join as Insurance Agent.
She : I joined my MBA now and I wanted to be an Entrepreneur and I felt that I am weak in Sales. I also thought that being an Insurance Agent could help to overcome my shyness and to build my sales and social skills.

She did not ask or force me to buy a policy. She just explained and left. I was moved by her positive thinking and she motivated me. I wanted to meet her once again not to get an policy from her but to make her as my nominee.

“Insurance is a subject matter of solicitation”

END

Leave a Reply

